New York State
Department of Correctional Services
David A. Paterson, Governor
Brian Fischer, Commissioner
For immediate release:
August 16, 2010
New York State Correction Officer Examination Scheduled for October 16, 2010
A statewide competitive Civil Service exam for the position of correction officer trainee will be held on October 16, 2010.
There are no minimum requirements for taking this written examination. However, at the time of appointment, you must have passed the written exam, you must be 21 or older, a U.S. citizen and a resident of New York, and possess a high school diploma or GED. Appointees must also have passed medical and psychological screenings, as well as a background investigation. Conviction for a felony automatically disqualifies anyone from becoming a correction officer. Misdemeanor convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis to determine eligibility. Applications must be postmarked by September 13, 2010.
The starting annual salary for a trainee is $36,420 and $43,867 after the one-year traineeship, subject to potential increase through contract negotiations, with additional geographic pay Downstate. In addition to the base salary, appointees will receive 16 college credits, a comprehensive health insurance program, retirement benefits, and pre-shift briefing and expanded duty pay which amount to $3,344 annually.
Officers working at correctional facilities in the New York City area and select Mid-Hudson areas will receive an addition to their salary - $3,210 annually for working in New York City or Nassau, Suffolk, Rockland or Westchester counties, or $1,195 annually for working in Dutchess, Orange or Putnam counties. There are also evening and night shift inconvenience pay programs.
Because about 1,000 security staff employees retire or leave the payroll each year, DOCS will be looking to hire correction officers despite recent prison consolidations and the planned closure of Lyon Mountain Correctional Facility and the minimum portion of Butler Correctional Facility on January 31, 2011. DOCS’ correction officer force stands at 18,560.
The exam is administered by the New York State Department of Civil Service. Additional information is available at: http://www.cs.state.ny.us/examannouncements/announcements/oc/25-431.cfm, or by telephone toll-free at (877) 697-5627, option 2.
“Corrections is a great career for the men and women of New York, and I encourage anyone looking for a challenging and rewarding job, especially women and minorities, to take this exam,” said Commissioner Brian Fischer. “Under Governor Paterson’s leadership, we continue to experience some of the lowest rates of violence in our correctional facilities in a generation. The important job of Correction Officer not only provides opportunities for career advancement but carries with it the honor of playing a critical role in keeping this State and its citizens safe and secure.”
To ensure a successful recruitment for October’s competitive exam, test announcements and applications will be distributed at multiple locations as well as the Department of Civil Service’s website (www.cs.state.ny.us), its Albany location, its regional Civil Service offices, local New York State Employment Offices, and all State correctional facilities.
In addition, announcements and applications can be obtained by contacting the Department of Correctional Services at NYSDOCS, Correction Officer Recruitment Unit, Building 2, The Harriman State Campus, 1220 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY, 12226 or by calling DOCS at (518) 457-8131, or via the internet at www.doccs.ny.gov.
If you took a County Correction Officer/Trainee examination on April 10, 2010, you may apply for this examination but you will not be admitted to the written test on October 16, 2010. If you apply, your results from the County Correction Officer/Trainee examination will be used to calculate your final score for this examination. If you score 70 or higher on the April 10, 2010 County Correction Officer/Trainee examination, your name will be included on the eligible list for this New York State examination. You must pay the required non-refundable processing fee.